Queensland Premier Cricket Round 2

Round 2 of the Queensland Premier League 1st Grade competition saw Sunshine Coast, Sandgate-Redcliffe, Valley and University of Queensland score victories which gave them two from two for the competition so far.

Ipswich/Logan hosted their first home match of the season and sent in Northern Suburbs but the visitors were able to post an imposing 2 for 323 off their 50 overs. Tom Healy, son of former Australian wicket-keeper Ian, batted throughout the innings for an unbeaten 136 off 146 balls. Michael Dawson made 87 while captain Joe Burns was dismissed one short of his half century. In reply, the home side was dismissed for 267 with Daniel Wilson top scoring with an impressive 161 off just 131 deliveries. Unfortunately, no other batsmen could go further than 25. Bernard Bester was the best of the bowlers with 3-53.

Western Suburbs hosted Toombul in their clash and the home side inserted the visitors. The visitors were restricted to 9 for 205 off their 50 overs with captain Cameron Leeder top scoring with 48. Sam Doggett with 3 for 25 and Blake Edwards with 3 for 41 were the pick of the bowlers. In reply, the home side made the runs with ease, passing the target within 40 overs to score a bonus point victory only 4 wickets down. Chris Sabburg was the top scorer with 80 off 72 deliveries while Queensland batsman Sam Truloff was unbeaten with 64. Jacob Wood was the pick of the bowlers for Toombul with 2 for 29 off 7 overs.

Sunshine Coast recorded their second win from two matches when they defeated Wynnum/Manly by 15 runs in a close contest at John Blanck Oval. Winning the toss and batting first, Sunshine Coast made 6 for 243 off their 50 overs. Kobi Francis-Griggs top scored with an even 100 not out while captain Alecz Day made 49. Alister McDermott was the leading wicket taker with 2 for 59 off his 10 overs. In reply, Wynnum/Manly were 3 for 59 and then 5 for 135 but got close and nearly pulled off a victory against the home side. Nathan Rabnott top scored with 71, well supported by state player Jason Floros who made 45. Sam Gardiner with 3 for 33 and Wade Johnston with 3 for 46 were the leading wicket takers.

South Brisbane visited Sandgate-Redcliffe but were unable to come away with the victory going down by 5 wickets. South Brisbane consistently lost wickets throughout their innings and was dismissed for 269 on the last ball of their allotted 50 overs. Aryan Jain was the only player to pass fifty for the visitors making 54, while Nathan Rimmington continued his early season good form taking 3 for 45 off his 10 overs. In reply, the home side was in a bit of trouble at 5 for 163 before Lloyd Aspin took the blade to the bowlers making an unbeaten 96 off 66 overs with 8 fours and 6 sixes. Bryce Street and Chris Hemphrey also made half centuries for Sandgate-Redcliffe.

In another close match, Valley held off Redlands to score a 16 run victory at Peter Burge Oval. Winning the toss and batting first, Valley made 9 for 277 off their 50 overs. Craig McElligott top scored with 64, while Jack Wildermuth made 60. Marnus Labuschange was the leading wicket taker with 3 for 60 off 10 overs. In reply Redlands was dismissed for 261 with four overs remaining in their innings. Australian ODI batsman Sam Heazlett top scored with 68 while James Peirson was the only other player to pass 50 for the Tigers. Jack Wildermuth followed up his half century with 3 for 50 off 8 overs.

In the final match, University of Queensland recorded an easy 98 run victory at Bill Pippen Oval against Gold Coast. Sent in to bat, University was dismissed for 277 with one ball remaining in their innings. Hamish Gardner was the only player to pass 50 for the match, with 66 off 78 deliveries. Xavier Bartlett was the top wicket taker with 4 for 47 off 8.5 overs. In reply, Gold Coast were never really in the hunt, being 7 for 110 at one stage before being dismissed for 179. Opener, Oscar Richardson top scored with 48. Dugie Hill lead the wicket takers with 3 for 57 while Scott Walter, Dylan D’Roza and Michael Philipson all took 2 wickets.

Leading Run Scorers After Round 2: Daniel Wilson 264, Chris Hemphrey 196, Tom Healy 182, Andrew Gode 171, Michael Dawson 168, Leo Carter 165.

Leading Wicket Takers After Round 2: Nathan Rimmington, Alecz Day 6; Josh Dashcombe, Xavier Bartlett, Blake Edwards, Bernard Bester, Sam Gardiner 5; Matthew Kuhnemann, Chris Hemphrey, Cameron Trask, Jack Wildermuth, James Bazley 4.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s